eNutritionServices

Be Heart Healthy and Lose Weight!

Lower Blood Pressure – How Celery Can Be Used to Lower Blood Pressure

Posted by Lisa Nelson, RD, LN on August 10, 2009

When you think of celery, you probably immediately think “diet” and snacking on carrots and celery instead of the food you really crave!

Well, celery does much more for your heart than simply trimming your waistline. A Chinese study found blood pressure to fall significantly in 14 out of 16 individuals with high blood pressure when they were given celery.

Exactly how celery works to lower blood pressure is not completely understood. Scientists have found celery to contain apigenin. Apigenin is a substance known to help lower high blood pressure. Celery also exhibits properties similar to diuretics and ACE inhibitors, both effective medications to lower blood pressure. Celery has been used to treat a variety of conditions – congestive heart failure, fluid retention, anxiety, insomnia, gout, and diabetes.

Mark Houston, a well-known cardiac physician, recommends eating either 4 celery stalks daily, 8 teaspoons of celery juice 3 times a day, 1000 mg celery seed extract twice a day, or ½ to 1 teaspoon of celery oil 3 times a day in tincture form. I say go with the celery stalks. The cost is low, calories minimal, taste good, and potential benefit great.

The risk of excess celery is almost non-existent, so this is a safe treatment option if you are struggling to lower high blood pressure. However, don’t counteract the benefits by slathering your celery in a high fat dip or dressing. If you need added flavor, opt for a low fat dressing or possibly peanut butter. Peanut butter provides a good source of heart healthy unsaturated fats and protein.

FYI – Non-animal sources of protein, such as beans and soy, promote lower blood pressure levels. Studies have found that individuals who consume 30% higher than average protein intake (such as 1.0 – 1.2 grams per kilogram of body weight) have reduced blood pressures. The average reduction was 3.0 mm Hg reduced systolic blood pressure and 2.5 mm Hg diastolic. So, added bonus to combine peanut butter with your daily celery intake!

Subscribe to The Heart of Health ezine to receive regular heart health and weight loss tips from dietitian Lisa Nelson. You’ll also receive the subscriber exclusive report: “Stop Wasting Money – Take Control of Your Health!”

All the best,
Lisa Nelson RD

42 Responses to “Lower Blood Pressure – How Celery Can Be Used to Lower Blood Pressure”

  1. For many centuries now people have not only being eating sticks of celery itself but also taking the oil made from it to reduce high blood pressure levels. Eating celery for high blood pressure is not a definitively proven solution to hypertension, but as part of a sensible, healthy diet and lifestyle it makes sense to further explore how it can help you – But only after consulting your treating physician first.

  2. Jack said

    Let me get this straight, ESAS. You’re saying that we should eat some celery, and read up on what celery can do for us, but not until after we consult our treating physician?!

    This is why people are obese. They listen to one doctor – a human being with faults (e.g. a limited understanding of nutrition) and who has 50 other patients to attend to – instead of doing research and making educated decisions.

  3. registered dietitian…

    Lower Blood Pressure – How Celery Can Be Used to Lower Blood Pressure « eNutritionServices…

  4. Gout said

    Gout…

    […]Lower Blood Pressure – How Celery Can Be Used to Lower Blood Pressure « eNutritionServices[…]…

  5. Diets…

    […]Lower Blood Pressure – How Celery Can Be Used to Lower Blood Pressure « eNutritionServices[…]…

  6. Ryan Gosling Bodybuilding…

    […]Lower Blood Pressure – How Celery Can Be Used to Lower Blood Pressure « eNutritionServices[…]…

  7. the fast diet…

    […]Lower Blood Pressure – How Celery Can Be Used to Lower Blood Pressure « eNutritionServices[…]…

  8. Gail said

    I have lowered my blood pressure from160/77 on the 29th december to today 7th january to 119/63 .i have reduced my salt intake and started eating celery stick daily and drinking more water!
    I cant believe the results so soon !I am 53 and have suffered with high blood pressure for 12 years and been on medication for years !very happy somthing so simple is bringing it down!

  9. I have been eating celery everyday for the past year, and it has lowered my blood pressure. It works!

  10. Lisa Casimir said

    Hi Lisa,

    I’m suffering from high blood pressure n I’m only 29yrs old I’m n out of the for blood pressure or chest pain can u please help cause I heard u can boil the celery n drink the celery water only is the ok too.

  11. nutrition said

    If you are going for finest contents like I do, simply go to see this site daily for the reason that
    it offers feature contents, thanks

  12. Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was wanting to

    know your situation; many of us have developed some nice methods and we

    are looking to swap techniques with others, why not shoot me an email if interested.

  13. May I simply say what a relief to uncover someone that really knows what they are discussing on the internet.
    You actually understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important.
    More people must look at this and understand this side of the story.
    I was surprised you’re not more popular because you surely have the gift.

  14. whoah this weblog is wonderful i love reading your posts.
    Keep up the great work! You know, lots of persons are hunting
    round for this information, you can help them
    greatly.

  15. I am actually happy to read this webpage posts which contains plenty of valuable information, thanks for providing
    such statistics.

  16. Lynn said

    In addition, it used a large amount of ink every time the printer geared
    up for automatic cleaning or unplugging clogged nozzles.
    Ink expenses are the most pricey part of owning
    an inkjet printer. Step eight: Once your cartridge is fill
    cover the hole.

  17. you are in point of fact a just right webmaster. The web site loading pace is amazing.

    It seems that you are doing any distinctive trick.

    In addition, The contents are masterwork. you’ve performed a fantastic task in this subject!

  18. Sang said

    My sis informed me about your site and how nice it is.
    She’s right, I’m actually impressed with the writing and slick design. It seems to me you’re simply scratching the floor when it comes to what you may accomplish, but you’re off to a terrific begin!

  19. Edwina said

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this blog. I am hoping to check out the same high-grade content from you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my very own blog now 😉

  20. Sung said

    Have you ever considered creating an e-book or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog centered on the same information
    you discuss and would really like to have
    you share some stories/information. I know my subscribers would appreciate your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free
    to shoot me an e-mail.

  21. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but
    your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later. Many thanks

  22. Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re
    just extremely wonderful. I actually like what you have acquired here,
    really like what you are saying and the way in which you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise.
    I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a great website.

  23. Today, I went to the beach front with my kids.
    I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year
    old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely off topic but
    I had to tell someone!

  24. Hi, after reading this remarkable post i am also cheerful to share my familiarity here with mates.

  25. homepage said

    Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked
    submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Regardless, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  26. Web Site said

    I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your web site. Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems? A handful of my blog visitors have complained about my website not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any ideas to help fix this problem?

  27. You can definitely see your enthusiasm in the
    article you write. The world hopes for even more passionate
    writers like you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  28. I am not sure where you are getting your info, but good topic.

    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for excellent info I was looking for this info for
    my mission.

  29. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a
    look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI,
    just 3G .. Anyways, awesome blog!

  30. Valuable information. Fortunate me I found your website
    by accident, and I’m shocked why this coincidence did
    not happened in advance! I bookmarked it.

  31. Measles, mumps, and urinary tract infection relief is
    rare in older adults, according to the FBI’s Internet
    Crime Complaint Center.

  32. Awesome! Its genuinely awesome piece of writing, I have got much clear idea regarding from
    this piece of writing.

  33. Right now it sounds like Drupal is the preferred blogging platform out there right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are employing on your blog?

  34. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you ought to publish more about this issue, it might not be a
    taboo subject but generally people don’t talk about such topics.

    To the next! Kind regards!!

  35. Maragaret said

    It’s remarkable to pay a quick visit this web page and reading the views of all
    friends concerning this post, while I am also keen of getting know-how.

  36. Fine way of explaining, and pleasant piece of writing to get facts on the topic of my
    presentation subject, which i am going to convey in institution of higher
    education.

  37. vacation said

    Hey! I know this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to
    ask. Does managing a well-established website like yours require a large
    amount of work? I’m completely new to operating a blog but I
    do write in my journal every day. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share
    my experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any ideas
    or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners.

    Appreciate it!

  38. It’s remarkable in support of me to have
    a web page, which is good designed for my experience.

    thanks admin

  39. cruise said

    What’s up to every , because I am really keen of reading this web site’s post to
    be updated on a regular basis. It carries nice material.

  40. It’s enormous that you are getting ideas from this post as well
    as from our argument made here.

  41. Simply wish to say your article is as astounding. The clarity
    in your post is just nice and i could assume you are an expert on this subject.
    Well with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to
    keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the gratifying work.

  42. promo kartu Kredit

    Lower Blood Pressure – How Celery Can Be Used to Lower Blood Pressure « eNutritionServices

Leave a Reply

 
