eNutritionServices

Be Heart Healthy and Lose Weight!

Do I need to be concerned about high HDL levels?

Posted by Lisa Nelson, RD, LN on June 22, 2008

My LDL is 50, my HDL is 160 and my triglycerides 90.  Do I need to be concerned about my high HDL levels?

The above question is one I recently answered for a visitor to The Health Central Network.  I thought readers of this blog may be interested in the answer as well, so here it is. 

HDL is the good cholesterol and does not contribute to arterial plaque that leads to heart disease.  HDL actually does the opposite and reduces the plaque lining your artery walls.  A high level is a good thing and reduces your heart disease risk.  If taking medications, speak with your MD to double check whether your medication is playing a role.

With an HDL of 160, your total cholesterol is going to be over 200.  However, the high HDL level negates the negative of a total over 200.  You are doing fine, keep up the good work!

All the best,

Lisa Nelson, RD, LN

Lower Cholesterol


Health

Leave a Reply

 
